John Cage: sounds and silence


Black and white, sound and silence. Nothing else.

Made me think about the meaning of stuff, in a determined context. A colour is never just a colour, or else I’d write in red all the time. A smile may be sweet in a context and sarcastic in another. Things should be simple, but they aren’t.

«For as I love sounds, just as they are. And I have no need for them to be anything more than what they are. I don’t want them to be psychological, I don’t want  a sound to pretend that it’s a bucket, or that it’s president, or that it’s in love with another sound. I just want it to be a sound.»

Leave a Reply

