Book reader of the future

via retronaut.co

I have already seen more than one device claiming to be the next book reader of the future. We all know that didn’t happened, since that future is now past. But I always find interesting this kind of old devices, that make me thing how the book object still has issues regarding the way we read.

In a book, we usually have pages, paragraphs, sentences. Since the space is limited, text is organized in columns, and sentences are broken to fit. That means when we pass from one line of text to another, we make a pause that wasn’t intended to be there. Then we have cases where words are broken so that the text line (and the text area) will be more equilibrated. But that also means a larger pause in reading, since we only read half of the word first, and then the other half. I confess I sometimes have to read twice those kind of words, since I’m a fast reader and I often misunderstood them, due to the eye “jumps” movements made during the reading process.

eye jump movements during reading 

But I think the worse pause is between pages. I always try to memorize the last word I read in a page, specially if a sentence is broken in between. Still, many times I have to move back and re-read the entire sentence again.

Punctuation is another issue (like when I start reading a declarative sentence and then I realize it is an interrogative one). Font size, image reproduction, etc, etc…

The new reading devices don’t do much to solve this, do they?

Leave a Reply

